Snow Hill Plantation - Conway Horry County South Carolina SC

Snow Hill Plantation – Conway – Horry County

Much of the information on this page was contributed by J. Benjamin Burroughs of Conway, South Carolina. Ben was formerly the Executive Director of the Horry County Historical Society.

Basic Information

  • Location – Kingston Lake (a tributary of the Waccamaw River), Conway, Horry County

    Original plantation lands were located slightly north of the town of Conway and west of SC 905

  • Origin of name – Named for the owner

  • Other names – Snow's Landing

  • Current status – Part of the property is privately owned. The rest has been subdivided into residential lots making up the Snow Hill section of Conway.


  • ? – Earliest known date of existence

  • 1850 – A plantation house was built about this time.

  • 1862 – Plowden C.J. Weston purchased the plantation as a refuge for his family. They fled their residence at Hagley Plantation during the invasion of Union troops.

  • 1880 – The house was moved to a nearby location. A new, larger house was built on Snow Hill by F.G. Burroughs.


  • Number of acres – ?

  • Primary crop – ?


  • Alphabetical list – Barnhill; Adeline Cooper Burroughs; Donald M. Burroughs; Edgerton Burroughs; Franklin Gorham Burroughs; James Burroughs; William Gregg; Ben Hazzard; Hal B. and Margaret M. Holmes; Snow; Plowden C.J. Weston


  • Number of slaves – 40 in 1862


  • Slave cabins – There were seven slave cottages in 1862.

  • Other buildings included a gristmill, cotton gin, stables, and dairy.

Web Resources

Print Resources

  • Catherine H. Lewis, Horry County, South Carolina, 1730-1993 (Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press, 1998).

SC Plantation Inns
SC Plantation Tours
SC Plantation Pictures
SC Plantations by Place
SC Plantation Weddings

Abbeville County
Aiken County
Allendale County
Anderson County

Bamberg County
Barnwell County
Beaufort County
Berkeley County

Calhoun County
Charleston County
Cherokee County
Chester County
Chesterfield County
Clarendon County
Colleton County

Darlington County
Dillon County
Dorchester County

Edgefield County

Fairfield County
Florence County

Georgetown County
Greenville County
Greenwood County

Hampton County
Horry County

Jasper County

Kershaw County

Lancaster County
Laurens County
Lee County
Lexington County

Marion County
Marlboro County
McCormick County

Newberry County

Oconee County
Orangeburg County

Pickens County

Richland County

Saluda County
Spartanburg County
Sumter County

Union County

Williamsburg County

York County

Flower photographs by Virginia Saunders, Columbia, SC. Please click flower for more info.


Are you able to correct
an error?
Please click here.
is maintained as a public service by

South Carolina

Home Edit Info Contact

HomeCorrect InfoSearchContact