Inverary Plantation - Jasper County South Carolina SC

Inverary Plantation – Jasper County

Basic Information

  • Location – Jasper County

    Inverary Plantation was originally in Beaufort County but now lies inside the limits of Jasper County; county lines were redrawn in the early 1900s.

  • Origin of name – ?

  • Other names – Delta Plantation

  • Current status – Inverary Plantation became part of Delta Plantation in 1830.


  • ? – Earliest known date of existence

  • ? – House built

  • ? – Lord William Campbell acquired the property (1, p. 319).

  • 1823 – Dr. Charles W. Rogers purchased Inverary from the estate of Lord William Campbell (1, p. 319).

  • 1830 – Langdon Cheves purchased Inverary for $52,420. He also purchased neighboring Smithfield Planation and renamed the combined 1,132 acres Delta Plantation (1, p. 319) (2, p. 140).


  • Number of acres – 1,250 in 1829 (1, p. 319)

  • Primary crop – Rice (1, p. 319) (2, p. 139)


  • Number of slaves – 103 in 1829 (1, p. 319)

References & Resources

  1. Lawrence S. Rowland, Alexander Moore, and George C. Rodgers, Jr. The History of Beaufort County, South Carolina: Volume 1, 1514-1861 (Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press, 1996)
     Order The History of Beaufort County, South Carolina: Volume 1, 1514-1861

  2. Robert B. Cuthbert and Stephen G. Hoffius, editors, Northern Money, Southern Land: The Lowcountry Plantation Sketches of Chlotilde R. Martin (Columbia, SC: The University of South Carolina Press, 2009)

SC Plantation Inns
SC Plantation Tours
SC Plantation Pictures
SC Plantations by Place
SC Plantation Weddings

Abbeville County
Aiken County
Allendale County
Anderson County

Bamberg County
Barnwell County
Beaufort County
Berkeley County

Calhoun County
Charleston County
Cherokee County
Chester County
Chesterfield County
Clarendon County
Colleton County

Darlington County
Dillon County
Dorchester County

Edgefield County

Fairfield County
Florence County

Georgetown County
Greenville County
Greenwood County

Hampton County
Horry County

Jasper County

Kershaw County

Lancaster County
Laurens County
Lee County
Lexington County

Marion County
Marlboro County
McCormick County

Newberry County

Oconee County
Orangeburg County

Pickens County

Richland County

Saluda County
Spartanburg County
Sumter County

Union County

Williamsburg County

York County

Flower photographs by Virginia Saunders, Columbia, SC. Please click flower for more info.


Are you able to correct
an error?
Please click here.
is maintained as a public service by

South Carolina

Home Edit Info Contact

HomeCorrect InfoSearchContact