Mouzon Plantation - Kingstree Williamsburg County South Carolina SC

Mouzon Plantation – Kingstree – Williamsburg County

Mouzon Plantation - Williamsburg County, South Carolina
— Mouzon Plantation © Irwin McIntosh —

Special thanks to Edna Griffith Greenewalt for contributing much of the information on this page.

Basic Information

  • Location – Black River, Kingstree, Williamsburg County, Prince Frederick Parish

    Located 8 miles northwest of the Town of Kingstree

  • Origin of name – Named for first owner, Louis de Mouzon

  • Other names – White House

  • Current status – Privately owned


  • 1741 – Earliest known date of existence when Louis de Mouzon received land grants.

  • ? – House built by Louis de Mouzon

  • ? – Louis de Mouzon left the plantation to his grandson, William Henry Mouzon II.

    This house was burned during the Revolutionary War by Banastre Tarleton's troups.

  • 1830 – Another house was built and still stands. The house was painted white and became known as "the White House."


  • Number of acres – ?

  • Primary crop – ?


  • Chronological list – Louis de Mouzon (1741-?), William Henry Mouzon II


  • Number of slaves – ?


  • The house built in 1830 still stands.

References & Resources

  1. Claude Henry Neuffer, editor, Names in South Carolina, Volume I through 30 (Columbia, SC: The State Printing Company)
     Order Names in South Carolina, Volumes I-XII, 1954-1965
     Order Names in South Carolina, Index XIII-XVIII

SC Plantation Inns
SC Plantation Tours
SC Plantation Pictures
SC Plantations by Place
SC Plantation Weddings

Abbeville County
Aiken County
Allendale County
Anderson County

Bamberg County
Barnwell County
Beaufort County
Berkeley County

Calhoun County
Charleston County
Cherokee County
Chester County
Chesterfield County
Clarendon County
Colleton County

Darlington County
Dillon County
Dorchester County

Edgefield County

Fairfield County
Florence County

Georgetown County
Greenville County
Greenwood County

Hampton County
Horry County

Jasper County

Kershaw County

Lancaster County
Laurens County
Lee County
Lexington County

Marion County
Marlboro County
McCormick County

Newberry County

Oconee County
Orangeburg County

Pickens County

Richland County

Saluda County
Spartanburg County
Sumter County

Union County

Williamsburg County

York County

Flower photographs by Virginia Saunders, Columbia, SC. Please click flower for more info.


Are you able to correct
an error?
Please click here.
is maintained as a public service by

South Carolina

Home Edit Info Contact

HomeCorrect InfoSearchContact